Feb. 4, 2002
"good old new york"
I don't feel like I am actually sitting here. Maybe because I'm still half asleep.

?

Well, last night I had trouble falling asleep, so I'm awake at 1 thinking about a rather wide variety of things. One being the second time I went to Manhattan (first was when I was 7 to go to the museum of natural history; we saw a naked guy wandering around. myself, being from a suburb, thought that was a pretty unusual sight to see.) Well anyway. The second time just makes me realize how innocent I was when I was 10. And how many adults claim to have compassion for other people. Well we get off the ferry, and walking down the little ramp to get to the street, I spotted (rather almost stumbled upon) a man laying face down on the ground passed out from I'm guessing the liquor bottle in his hand. And you know, being the fact that my parents had instilled within me that value to help other people in need, I said to my mother, "Shouldn't we call an ambulance?" And her reply (this is the woman who I thought would most want to help) to me was, "No, no. Just don't touch him. Let's go."

She didn't even explain herself to me. Now I'm wondering if it was because she didn't want to, or she couldn't.

Posted by Maleta at 7:21 a.m.