2003-01-21
writing can be therapy and its cheap, too, folks.
So I'm beginning to realize that no one I know feels the same way that I do about anything. I still love them (well ok. i love about only 3 or 4 people who aren't directly related to me), but I want someone to talk to who won't yell at me without even letting me finish my statements. Forgive me if I wan't to make a statement in English class which I feel is very valid and am ready to defend if it doesn't coincide with all of your little viewpoints and prejudices. This time I wasn't even trying to make a vast social statement I was just trying to point out how a certain occurence had a good outcome on the main character in "Of Human Bondage." Sorry, but I thought that was the whole point of a literary discussion. What I was saying was that in order to help a certain class of people, one must know what it is like to be them. In this case, the book, his (philip) experience with being poor helped him understand the plight of his patients in the future. I made the apparently appaling statement that every rich person should have to live for some time without money. If I was allowed to finish my statement I would have been able to make it more clear that the point of this was to remind rich people that there are in fact poor people out there, and they can't do too much to help themselves without a little help from the rest of society. Who gives a shit what reason these people are in this situation, ignoring it because you feel they deserve it will not make the problem go away. Or maybe it will, for you at least, and if that's all that matters to you then you're lucky. I WISH i could care only about myself. Then I was asked if I would give up my money if it were to help society. If it truly would, then yes, I would. Truthfully, though, I already know what it feels like to have to worry about where all my shit is going to come from. 3,000 dollars after financial aid for college is a big deal for my family, as is buying clothes and keeping the electricity on. Ok, so if no one wants to actually live in poverty to know what it's like, at least live in the lower middle-class world and deal with a budget that isn't "ok this will enable us to send suzie to harvard, and this little fund will allow our family of 4 to go to the bahamas for two weeks." I mean a budget that is about food, and health care, and clothing. Please, for the love of EVERYTHING let me finish my points before you argue them. They aren't some crazy radical viewpoint, it's simply where I'm coming from. If it's too uncomfortable for you to relate to, then fine. At least let me finish speaking before you yell at me with some crazy idea that I shouldn't speak just because my opinions differ from yours.

And writing all of this I feel that I should be angry, but I'm not. I'm just sort of summarizing recent events and it's weird because I've detached myself from most of the emotions that went along with these events.

Posted by Maleta at 3:18 p.m.