March 6,2003
mental vacation.
Today I decided to not waste any time or energy trying to figure out something to do when I knew I'd wind up doing nothing anyway. I woke up, and thanks to my mom's fear of ice, she told me not to even bother going to school, so I watched a movie, took a shower so I wouldn't feel all skanky and then put on my favorite pajamas, got my room to a comfortable 78 degrees and enjoyed the cocoon-like environment. How comfy. What fun. For a whole hour I just lied down with my eyes closed to see what I would think about. Following a random thought pattern is fun. I found myself thinking about what to bring to Florida and then all of the sudden I was thinking about a raft and water and the sand and then for some reason a band-aid and cereal and socks and chocolate and people and things people have said to me recently. When you are content with being bored, the mind provides some interesting entertainment. Of course there was some food and on-line games thrown in there just to mix stuff up a bit. I like ice cubes. Work will probably strangle the life out of my current state of peace but at least I'll remember it was there.

Posted by Maleta at 3:38 p.m.