August 5,2003
oh happy day.
Everything is changing once again. Slowly, because of the over-kill of time that summer provides us with, but changing nevertheless. The way this works is bullshit; why can't we have extra time when we need it, like in the middle of a cold and depressing winter when everyone needs more sleep? During the summer I feel as if there is too much time on my hands to prepare for the next event in my life. This summer that next event is college. I am already prepared for it, though.I 've been prepared for it forever. After all, it has been the reason behind everything that I've done for the past 17 years, right? Everyone around me is getting stuff ready to leave their homes and go move into a brand new place, yet here I am, staying in my place and just having nothing to do but work and hang out with the 3 people I see regularly. Which is great, but I would rather have all this excess time not rammed together, but in little pockets somewhere, that I could pull out when I really truly am in need of a break.

I passed the 6th month point in my relationship. This is a first for me. My boyfriend is not only my boyfriend but one of my best friends. (A-list as Eleanor labels them.) This is stability! This is wonderful! I love it, I love him.

My social life outside of him is all out of whack because we all know shit is about to change. I just hope I hang on to the few good people I know right now. They are just too good to not hang on to.

I got a turtle today! I like to think it's mine. But it's in Matt's basement. His name is Milo. He belongs outside in the woods, but some lady almost hit him with her car today, and what would prevent that from happening again if we put him back outside?

My job fascinates me when I am not completely stressed out by it. Animals are just so amazing to watch. A mouse had babies today (10 freakin babies) and five minutes later she's running on her exercise wheel. (not entirely unlike a person who needs to get back in shape a.s.a.p! to get rid of baby weight.)

I know everyone is having issues right now. Whether it be life altering, or just typical guy trouble, that is in fact life. It's the way it goes. Just smack me right now for trying to get everyone to look on the brighter side of things, because I know it's not what anyone wants to hear. But. I hope it may help to bring a smile to someone's face. It also may help knowing that this advice is coming from a cynical bitch herself. So. If even I can be optimistic sometimes, there is hope for us all.

Posted by Maleta at 1:01 a.m.