September 14,2003
the smell.
Well hello. I am supposed to be writing a four page essay that is due tomorrow on some vague topic about a story and hidden meanings and blahblahblah, the most boring assignment ever. No controversy or anything fun like that. Instead I'm writing in here. I haven't laid one sentence down yet for my essay. I'm hoping this will put me in the writing spirit. It's just that sitting here, I'm distracted by everything. First and foremost, this smell that is coming from a secion on my carpet where there is no stain of any sort, just a rancid meat odor that appeared out of nowhere this morning. I don't have work today, but I had to get up and go for an hour meeting at 8:30 to hear the same bullshit spouted to us every three months or so, and I came home and decided I would sleep some more when I layed down on my bed and smelled the smell of death. This left me searching for some stray piece of food or something bad my cats might have done, but nothing surfaced except the foul stench in a square foot of space in my carpet. When I stumbled upon the exact location of this odor with my nose I almost vomited right there. Thank goodness I didn't; that would have just added to the smell's power. You may all be thinking that I was making this up to give me an excuse not to do my work, but no, as it is, my brother came in my room and said it smelled like death, too. He ususally says my room smells, but he means by perfume or candles. It's too 'girly'. But this time, I don't think death is too girly for him and he said it truly does reek. So. Yeah. I sprayed everything imaginable on it, took a 3 hour nap, woke up, went to the a&p for some carpet fresh and sprayed that. I'm giving it an hour, and if it resurfaces I am throwing my carpet away today exposing my feet to the unhappy fake linoleum/wood type tiles beneath. At least my olfactory sense will be free from harm.

I can't believe I wrote that much about a smell. I also can't believe that it's almost 4:30 and I only have until around 6:30 to write this stupid paper that NO ONE will get higher than a C on because there looking for something different than what we've written before.

Update on smell: My room now smells like lollipops because of the carpet fresh. I hope it never stops smelling like this because I also think I'm enjoying the fumes.

Someone please write my essay for me!! DO IT! DAMMIT! I'm going insane. But on the bright side, I found a new ice cream flavor called Brownie Batter at the A&P and happily finished off quite a bit of that already. Ok. Going to write my essay. Yes..

Posted by Maleta at 4:20 p.m.