December 6, 2004
-
Oh, this one week. Once it is over I will have breathing space. I cannot wait. To get to that point with good spirits I have to do a whole bunch of crap, but who doesn't? It just really cheers me up to know that there will be a break after this. Lots of schooooool work. I really must say that my Civil Rights class this semester has been one of the best things I've experienced in school. I really enjoyed it, the documentary, the books, the teacher. That is what all of college should be like, and once I'm done with my requirements, it probably will be. I did things slightly backwards by taking the harder classes first, but I needed some in-depth knowledge instead of the broad stuff that we go over in introductory courses.
I want to meet Doug's new woman friend. Maybe she could partake in our group activities and enjoy them. That would be nice. I'm not sure what else to write about. I'm trying to boost myself up to the point where I want to write papers and everything. Not quite there yet.
Today in Middle Ages we watched a video about the First Crusade that was narrated by Terry Jones from Monty Python. At one point he interviewed a goose because apparently one group of crazy crusading Christians thought that a neighborhood goose was divine and followed him on his daily routine, thinking it would lead them somewhere, and this goose could have very well been a direct descendant. Haha, I'm too easily amused.
That was the only class I was able to attend today because I woke up and I couldn't stand up, and then I was sick, and then I was fine. What the hell? I guess it's a good thing I wasn't sick all day. But, it was weird and I had to miss math and Russian art.
I wrote a letter to my mother's friend who she hasn't spoken to for 2 years hoping that it will encourage them to make up. She and her husband were like family to my brother and I as we were growing up and I hope that things will be fixed soon, or else I fear that the next time they will see each other will be at a funeral or something. Relationships are complicated, I guess, though. I definitely know that from experience.
I am already mostly done with holiday shopping. My credit card bill will be terrifying, but that is what happens when you buy almost everything on-line. It was definitely worth not having to go to the mall a dozen times and brave crazy crowds.

Posted by Maleta at 6:08 p.m.